The National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) was set up under the Protection of Human Rights Act 1998. It acts mainly as an investigating body for complaints regarding violations of human rights and complaints against police brutality.

The NHRC consists of 3 Divisions: 

1. The Human Rights Division

2. The Police Complaints Division

3. The National Preventive Mechanism Division whose objectives are to: enquire into allegations of violations by public bodies of the human rights set out in Chapter II of the Constitution of Mauritius.

Aims and objectives

  • Receive and deal with complaints against the Police, whether these be for breaches of human rights or abuse of authority; ensure that conditions of detention in prisons and in cells in police stations are within prescribed norms;
  • Review safeguards provided under any enactment for the protection of human rights, promote human rights and increase awareness of such rights.